Searching Saturday: Covers with Veggies/Plants/Green Stuff

Searching Saturday is a bookish scavenger hunt hosted by Nikki from The Night Is Dark And Full Of Books. The aim is to find a book (or books) that are new to you and fit in with the weekly theme.  This week’s topic is books with veggies/plants/green stuff on the cover.

Searching Saturday

Happy National Eat Your Vegetable day! YES, another exciting national day to celebrate and inspire my topics. I Quote “National Eat Your Vegetable Day is one more opportunity to remind everyone to continue with this part of a healthy diet”. Because doesn’t everyone just love being reminded to eat healthy foods? I’m absolutely terrible with eating veggies, hence I don’t actually encounter them that often. So in my mind vegetables = some green leafy stuff. Boom, this topic was created. Search for books with actual vegetables, plants or any type of green stuff on the cover. Decide for yourself how difficult you want to make it. Oh and NO COOKBOOKS ALLOWED!


This week we are looking at books with veggies/plants/green stuff on the cover. My initial thought at this topic was “I don’t think I’ve ever seen any”, and a quick glance over my bookshelves came to a similar conclusion, although I did find one.

Following my failure with my own books I turned to Goodreads to help me out and even then I struggled. There were loads of books with trees on the cover which I tried to avoid as well as lots of gardening and cookery books. However I was trying to find fiction books only, let’s take a look at I got on.

The Books I Found

The Lake House by Kate Morton

This was the only book  I came across on my shelves that almost matched this week’s criteria. This cover shows plants/greenery, although I’m aware that the other editions of this book don’t.

Carrots (Shelby Nichols #1) by Colleen Helme

I really like the sound of this book and I would never have found it if it hadn’t been for me searching for vegetables on Goodreads!

The Cauliflower by Nicola Barker

Don’t think this will be a book I will read, however I like the cover.

Of Cabbages and Kings by Randa M. Chance

This book sounds intriguing and I have to admit that the cover made me smile.

Linger by Maggie Stiefvater

Moving on from the vegetables I came across this which, although not my preferred genre looks good. May make it to my TBR list one I’ve read The Raven Boys.

Prodigal Summer by Barbara Kingsolver

This isn’t a book that will make it to my TBR list, however the cover just about meets the criteria, so it s in!

What do you think of my selection? Have you read any of them?

One thought on “Searching Saturday: Covers with Veggies/Plants/Green Stuff

  1. Pingback: Weekly Review: June 18, 2017 | My Eclectic Reads

Leave a Reply

