TBR Thursday #2: Gold Coast

I’m back again this week with another TBR Thursday hosted by Kimberly over at Kimberleyfaye Reads.

TBR Thursday

This weekly feature is a great way to spotlight a title that’s been sitting on your shelves (virtual or otherwise) for some time for various reasons. I’m also going to ask for you input on whether or not I should read it or just stick it back on the shelf. Sometimes it seems like everyone is reading the same books at the same time and older titles have a way of just fading from the radar. I love the idea of featuring an older title and, of course, getting a chance to talk about it with other bloggers and readers.


Gold Coast

Gold Coast by Nelson DeMille

Genres: Thriller, Mystery, Suspense

Publication date: 1990

637 pages

Add it: Goodreads

Buy it: Amazon

The upmarket and salubrious area of Long Island is the stamping ground for a dying breed of America’s super-rich. It is also the residence of John Sutter, lawyer – very top-drawer, old money, right clubs – and his sensual wife, Susan. Their lives are about to be turned dramatically upside down by their new ‘next-door’ neighbour – a certain Mr Frank Bellarosa, top Mafia don and master manipulator. It is he who will impress upon them a rule much older than the archaic etiquette of the old-money set: a favour accepted is a favour owed.

I’ve just recently found this in a box of books hidden in the back of my wardrobe. I can’t remember how long it has been there, but I remember packing the box up when we redecorated a few years ago. As to why it didn’t make it back to the shelf when we finished is anyone’s guess.

Nevertheless the box has been rescued and all the books have been returned to their rightful place on the shelf ready for me to begin reading (or re-reading) when the time permits.

I’m looking forward to reading this eventually. The author was recommended to me by a friend was recommended to me by a work colleague. So when this and two other of his books came up in an offer I snatched them up, I just never got around to reading them.

Have you read Marking Time? Do you think it’s worth my time? Would you read it?

One thought on “TBR Thursday #2: Gold Coast

  1. Pingback: Weekly Review: June 18, 2017 | My Eclectic Reads

Leave a Reply

