Weekly Review: May 21, 2017

Another week has finally drawn to a close and that means it’s time for my weekly review.

My Weekly Review is a quick run down of my posts for the week, plans for the coming week and anything else I feel I need to share.


Book of the Week

I’m still in pre-holiday mode trying to get in front for next week while I’m away. However when this book landed on my Kindle on Tuesday I had a hard time trying to keep motivated rather than locking myself away and devouring it.

My book of the week is Alice: The Wanderland Chronicles by J M Sullivan. I’d heard so many good things about this book that I couldn’t help myself. My full review will be with your shortly.

Alice_ The Wanderland Chronicles

NetGalley Approvals

As I was in having a bit of an Alice in Wonderland binge I decided to download Alice in Brexitland by Lucien Young (or should I say Leavis Caroll) for a bit of light-hearted satire before I start on my holiday reading.

Alice in Brexitland

Lying on a riverbank on a lazy summer’s afternoon – 23rd June 2016, to be precise – Alice spots a flustered-looking white rabbit called Dave calling for a referendum. Following him down a rabbit-hole, she emerges into a strange new land, where up is down, black is white, experts are fools and fools are experts…

She meets such characters as the Corbynpillar, who sits on a toadstool smoking his hookah and being no help to anyone; Humpty Trumpty, perched on a wall he wants the Mexicans to pay for; the Cheshire Twat, who likes to disappear leaving only his grin, a pint, and the smell of scotch eggs remaining; and the terrifying Queen of Heartlessness, who’ll take off your head if you dare question her plan for Brexit. Will Alice ever be able to find anyone who speaks sense?

This Weeks Posts

I’ve had another good week on my blog with reviews for No Kiss Goodbye by Janelle Harris on Monday and The Roses of May by Dot Hutchison on Friday

I’ve shared my First Chapter, First Paragraph for Alice: The Wanderland Chronicles on Tuesday, Wednesday I shared my Week in Books and Thursday I had some Bookish (and not so Bookish) Thoughts.

Saturday was another post for Searching Saturday where we were looking for books with water on the cover in honour of learn to swim day.

I’m hoping everything goes according to plan next week while I’m away. Keep your fingers crossed.

Well that’s my week in brief. If you want to keep up with things as they happen feel free to follow me on Instagram, Twitter and Goodreads!

Leave a Reply

