Searching Saturday: Books with Water on the Cover

Searching Saturday is a bookish scavenger hunt hosted by Nikki from The Night Is Dark And Full Of Books. The aim is to find a book (or books) that are new to you and fit in with the weekly theme.  This week’s topic is books with water on the cover.

Today is National Learn to Swim Day! Yes, I’m just going to keep using these unknown national days to inspire my topics.


Again this week I have turned to my Goodreads book list due to time constraints. It appears that water is quite a popular image for book covers. I found way more than the seven I chose and that was just from my own list.

The type of water ranges from a small puddle to raging seas, calm lakes to rain. Anyway here’s my selection for this week.

The Books I Found

The Tantalising Taste of Water by Nicola Claire

I don’t generally like books with people on the cover, and to be honest if I saw this in a bookstore I would be unlikely to pick it up for that reason. However, I have read other books by the same author and have seen the blurb on this which is how it’s made its way to my list.

The Rippler by Cindy Swanson

Again, the human image on the cover would initially put me off this book but having read the blurb beforehand I was intrigued by it.

Dark Waters by J B Turner

I really like the cover of this book. It looks calm and relaxing, although having read the blurb I have a feeling the book is far from it.

Unauthored Letters by Tara C Alred

Again, another book where to cover is probably a long way from the content of the book. Nevertheless I like the look of this cover.

Maternal Harbor by Marie F Martin

Despite the stormy look of the sea in this book I really like this cover

Wipeout! by Chip Hughes

My initial guess judging by the title and cover of this book was that there was a surfing connection. I wasn’t wrong. Overall a surfing detective sounds like an unusual take on your standard crime novels.

The Good Widow by Liz Fenton and  Lisa Steinke

This book was a Kindle First choice and initially the cover put me off. However after reading the blurb I decided to give it a try.

What do you think of my selection? Have you read any of them?

Leave a Reply

