Bookish (And Not So Bookish) Thoughts #2

Hosted by Bookishly Boisterous, Bookish (and not so bookish) Thoughts is a round-up of pretty much anything both in and out of the bookshelf. You can write about pretty much anything, bookish or otherwise.


 

Hidden Messages  It became apparent after a couple of chapters that my latest read, Alice: The Wanderland Chronicles, had a hidden message within the pages. Since I had chosen to read this on my kindle I had to whizz through the pages to see what it said. Has anyone else worked it out? What are your thoughts of hidden messages within books?

Alice_ The Wanderland Chronicles

Crappy Weather I’m totally fed up of the rain this week. I’ve got 101 things to do before I jet off on holiday and this weather is seriously affecting my motivation. Roll on next week when I can finally see some sunshine.

Wax Melts  I’m a sucker for gorgeous smelling candles and have recently learnt the delights of wax melts through a friend and fellow blogger. She recently sent out a request for people to join her PR team to which I applied and was successful. I’m currently awaiting my first set of melts, some of which have bookish themes. In the meantime if you wish to have a look for yourself then head on over here, plus if you use Debbie10 when you order you will receive a 10% discount off any order over £5

18403819_10154470250745848_5790820220233845966_o

Holiday TBR  As it’s not long now until our holiday I’ve been giving a bit of thought to my TBR list. I am planning on taking at least one paperback with me but the majority of my books will be on my Kindle (mainly so I have more room for clothes). I’m still finalising my list but will hopefully get chance to share with you the books I have decided to take/download.

Mum Bashing  Over the past week I’ve seen several posts on social media slating people (mainly mums) for one reason or another. I’ve seen a mum being abused for letting their 14 year old daughter where make up for a party, another mum given grief over the cleanliness of her house when all she asked for was a little advice. And then we have the bashing of ‘slummy mummies’ in the Daily Mail.  I was always taught that if you’ve nothing nice to say, then don’t say anything. When did that belief go out of fashion? Why can’t people be kind to each other? When did being a keyboard warrior become an acceptable pastime?

My mind has been mainly on my holiday these past couple of weeks but books have still managed to make an appearance.

What about you guys? What’s on you mind this week?

One thought on “Bookish (And Not So Bookish) Thoughts #2

  1. Pingback: Weekly Review: May 21, 2017 – My Eclectic Reads

Leave a Reply

