Book Review: No Kiss Goodbye

Synopsis

Kids change your life, they said.
Things will never be the same again, they said.
Isn’t it wonderful, they said.
But no one knows what to say now.

My husband wants to take the kids.
My husband thinks the accident was my fault.
My husband thinks I need help.

But I think he wants rid of me.

“Time will heal their wounds, but their emotional scars will never fade.”

Review

No Kiss Goodbye is the debut psychological novel by Janelle Harris.

I was drawn into this book by the blurb and really hoped it would be as good as the reviews I’d seen. Strangely, I can’t decide for sure whether I like this book or not.

I experienced a wide range of emotions while reading, but not necessarily the ones you might expect. I was irritated, confused, annoyed and totally frustrated but despite all this I was compelled to get to the end to find out what the hell was going on.

The main character, Laura, is involved in a horrific accident in which she loses her unborn baby and her memory. As she struggles to come to terms with the events surrounding the accident she remains suspicious of the people around her. She suspects they are keeping secrets from her, which is made worse by the fact she cant really remember anything from the accident or before. All of this impacts hugely on her behaviour towards her friends and family.

Even with everything she had been through I still didn’t feel very sympathetic towards Laura to begin with, although as the book progressed I did start to warm to her more. I struggled with the other characters too as I felt none were overly endearing.

There are parts of the story that don’t add up until right at the end when everything is revealed. However when you’re part way through a chapter and things don’t make sense, it’s difficult to completely understand what’s happening. At times it was as if the reader is expected to just ignore blatant discrepancies with the hope that everything will be explained later.

However, even when everything was explained, I still found myself flicking back though the pages to check in case I’d missed something. That said, once you do get to the end and all the twists are laid out for you, it begins to make more sense.  However, there are still a couple of unanswered questions and I don’t like that in a standalone book.

The big question is, would I recommend this book? The answer is yes. Although it wasn’t for me it was an interesting take on some very difficult subjects and it does keep you hooked until the end, if only to find out what happens.


Details

TitleNo Kiss Goodbye

Author: Janelle Harris

Genre: Thriller

Page Count: 209

Publication Date: 2nd September 2015

Format: Kindle

2 thoughts on “Book Review: No Kiss Goodbye

  1. Pingback: Weekly Review: May 21, 2017 – My Eclectic Reads

  2. Pingback: Monthly Wrap Up: May 2017 | My Eclectic Reads

Leave a Reply

