This Week In Books: 03.05.17

So I’ve decided to join in with the weekly feature hosted by the lovely Lipsy over at Lipsy’s Lost and Found which highlights our week in books. A similar theme is run by Sam at Taking On A World of Words.  I’m also following her lead and linking up with Stacking the Shelves and  Waiting on Wednesday.

It turns out that as much as I love four day weeks, they play havoc with my planning and I frequently find myself playing catch up. That said, the extra day also meant I had extra reading time so I suppose the trade off was worth it in the long run.

Anyway, here’s what my week in books looks like.

Now, Then, Next

My current read is the second book in the Scarlet Suffragette series by Nicola Claire. I finished the first book, Fearless, earlier in the year and have been patiently waiting for the release of Breathless since then. I had it on pre-order and it arrived on my Kindle on 27 April 2017 ready for me to read as soon as I got a minute. I’m about 25% of the way through it at the minute and I’m loving it as much as the first book.

Breathless

Last week was a good week for reading and I managed to get through two books, both by Jen Blood. The first was The Darkest Thread (The Flint K-9 Search and Rescue Mysteries #1), the second was All the Blue-Eyed Angels (Erin Solomon Mystery, #1)

 

Next up I’m planning to read The Girl of Ink and Stars by Kiran Millwood Hargrave. This was the book chosen by Emma over at The Stationery Geekette for the April BookBox.

The Girl of Ink and Stars

New on the TBR List

I really should unsubscribe from all the e-mails offering free Kindle books as I have no willpower at all. This week hasn’t been too bad. In addition to my current read I have added Lost Library by Kate Baray and The Good Widow by Liz Fenton.

The Good Widow.jpgElementary school teacher Jacqueline “Jacks” Morales’s marriage was far from perfect, but even in its ups and downs it was predictable, familiar. Or at least she thought it was…until two police officers showed up at her door with devastating news. Her husband of eight years, the one who should have been on a business trip to Kansas, had suffered a fatal car accident in Hawaii. And he wasn’t alone.

For Jacks, laying her husband to rest was hard. But it was even harder to think that his final moments belonged to another woman—one who had left behind her own grieving and bewildered fiancé. Nick, just as blindsided by the affair, wants answers. So he suggests that he and Jacks search for the truth together, retracing the doomed lovers’ last days in paradise.

Now, following the twisting path of that fateful road, Jacks is learning that nothing is ever as it seems. Not her marriage. Not her husband. And most certainly not his death…

Lost Library.jpg

Lost Library brings together a mysterious, magical book and a quirky heroine to create the adventure of a lifetime!

John Braxton arrives unannounced on Lizzie Smith’s doorstep looking for answers she doesn’t have. She may have a magical book, but she hasn’t a clue what to do with it–or even how to read it. And John’s revelation that he’s a Lycan isn’t making the job any easier.

Before the code to the book can be cracked, Lizzie and John stumble into the middle of a power-hungry mastermind’s plan. Caught up in one man’s search for power, Lizzie soon begins to uncover surprising secrets about her past and powers. Can she and John put a stop to their new found enemy’s plans?

Take a romp through the life of the quirky and well-meaning Lizzie as she discovers magic, creatures that go bump in the night, and maybe love.

What I’m Waiting For

I’ve got my eye on a few new releases over the coming months but my firm favourite at the minute is Roses of May (The Collector #2) by Dot Hutchison. The first book in the series, The Butterfly Garden, is one of my favourite reads of 2017.

Roses of May.jpg

Synopsis

Four months after the explosion at the Garden, a place where young women known as the Butterflies were kept captive, FBI agents Brandon Eddison, Victor Hanoverian, and Mercedes Ramirez are still entrenched in the aftermath, helping survivors in the process of adjusting to life on the outside. With winter coming to an end, the Butterflies have longer, warmer days of healing ahead. But for the agents, the impending thaw means one gruesome thing: a chilling guarantee that somewhere in the country, another young woman will turn up dead in a church with her throat slit and her body surrounded by flowers.

Priya Sravasti’s sister fell victim to the killer years ago. Now she and her mother move every few months, hoping for a new beginning. But when she ends up in the madman’s crosshairs, the hunt takes on new urgency. Only with Priya’s help can the killer be found—but will her desperate hope for closure compel her to put her very life on the line?

Expected publication: May 23rd 2017 by Thomas & Mercer

So that’s my week in books!

What are you currently reading? Have you finished any good books recently? Are there any books you are eagerly awaiting?

What do you think of my selection? Have you read any of them? Have any made it to your TBR list?

I’d love for you to join in with this meme, just share you link below or comment with your choices if you don’t have a blog.

 

 

One thought on “This Week In Books: 03.05.17

  1. Pingback: Weekly Review: May 7, 2017 – My Eclectic Reads

Leave a Reply

