Book Review: Trust Me

Synopis

One phone call. Two lives. Their darkest secrets.

Lana needs to sell a holiday, fast. Stuck in Tenerife, in a dead end job, she never expected a response quite like Liam’s.

Thousands of miles away a phone rings. Liam never intended to pick up, he’s too busy choosing the quickest way to die. But at least someone should know the truth before he goes, even if that someone is a stranger.

As time runs out both are drawn to the other, expressing thoughts they never imagined they would share.

When you’re about to die will your secrets even matter?

“Don’t mistake my relief for happiness. It’s vital that you understand the difference.”

Review

I first heard about Trust Me by Gemma Metcalfe through a Facebook book club after reading the blurb I took the plunge, paid my 99p and downloaded it to my Kindle.

Boy am I glad I did! As soon as I’d finished my book at the time I got straight onto reading Trust Me and wasn’t disappointed.

The style of book is pretty unusual and takes on the form of a phonecall between Lana and Liam. The chapters are choppy and fast paced in keeping with this. They also alternate between past and present as we learn more of Lana and Liam’s background and how they ended up where they are today.

Although books of this nature can get a little confusing, Gemma’s writing style made it easy to switch between seamlessly.

Lana is struggling to keep her crappy telemarketing  job trying to sell holidays. Liam has suffered a terrible few years culminating in him feeling like the only way out is to take his own life in order to save others.

The character development is excellent. I genuinely felt for them both, despite finding myself shouting at my kindle at times for the silly mistakes they made. However, the story did go to show how things can spiral out of control.

As the story progressed it was getting to the stage of will he, won’t he. I was hoping for the latter but had no idea how it could be achieved. The build up was written to perfection and the twist was something I didn’t expect.

It’s difficult to believe that this is Gemma’s debut novel. She has produced an excellent book with a truly unique standpoint. I will definitely be adding Gemma Metcalfe to my list of authors to watch out for in 2018.

Trust Me is a cleverly written, gripping page turner.


Details

TitleTrust Me

Author: Gemma Metcalfe

Genre: Thriller

Page Count: 209

Publication Date: 10th March 2017

Format: Kindle

3 thoughts on “Book Review: Trust Me

  1. Pingback: 6 Degrees of Separation: From The Slap to Trust Me – My Eclectic Reads

  2. Pingback: Stacking the Shelves #1 – April Books – My Eclectic Reads

  3. Pingback: Mid Year Freak Out Tag | My Eclectic Reads

Leave a Reply

