Searching Saturday: Unknown Books

Searching Saturday is a bookish scavenger hunt hosted by Nikki from The Night Is Dark And Full Of Books. The aim is to find a book (or books) that are new to you and fit in with the weekly theme.  This week’s topic is books with water on the cover.

Don’t get me wrong, the bookish community is great, but we do tend to see the same books over and over again. I’m guilty of putting popular books first. But not today!


This week we are looking at unknown books. Books that have under 2,000 Goodreads ratings and published at least 2 months ago. I initially though this was going to be difficult, however I did come across quite a few books and some may have made it onto my TBR wishlist.

The books I have chosen are from a variety of genres. Some I am aware of, while some I’ve never heard about. I have added the ratings of each of the books taken at the time of writing. They may have increased by the time this post is live as I have had to plan ahead due to holiday commitments.

The Books I Found

The Twelve Lives of Samuel Hawley (1,989 ratings)

This novel caught my attention as I’d recently seen it tagged as #currentlyreading over on Instagram. Based purely on the cover it isn’t something I would have initially picked up from the shelves, however the plot sounds good and something I would probably enjoy reading.

Nemesis by Brendan Reichs (732 ratings)

I’m a big fan of Kathy Reichs (Brendan’s mother) and was intrigued by this book. I noticed it didn’t have the best reviews but nevertheless I will be giving it a try.

Goodbye Days by Jeff Zentner (1,593 ratings)

I’m not sure if it’s something I would immediately choose but the blurb did catch my attention so for the time being I have added it to my TBR wishlist and may (or may not) get around to reading it one day.

The Idiot by Elif Batumen (1,178 ratings)

The cover caught my eye but I don’t think this is the sort of book I would pick up and read. I’m not a huge lover of coming of age books so I may have to give this one a miss.

Edgar and Lucy by Victor Lodato (946 ratings)

I loved the cover of this book and after reading the blurb it was yet another book to be added to my wishlist.

Blood Rose Rebellion by Rosalyn Eves (1,228 ratings)

This book has my favourite cover of all my choices. It’s not my preferred genre but I am beginning to find a new found fondness for YA fantasy novels recently so this also made my TBR list.

What do you think of my selection? Have you read any of them?

2 thoughts on “Searching Saturday: Unknown Books

  1. Pingback: Weekly Review: May 28, 2017 – My Eclectic Reads

  2. Pingback: Monthly Wrap Up: May 2017 | My Eclectic Reads

Leave a comment